训练

学会制定易达成的训练小目标

怀抱不切实际的期望反倒会阻碍你达成目标。来看看有什么实用小妙招。

最近更新:May 28, 2021
学会制定易达成的训练小目标-耐克训练志

下定决心实现一个宏大目标会令人兴奋不已,比如跑一场马拉松、完成 30 天健康饮食挑战、或者学会倒立。不过,为什么刚开始追逐目标时动力满满,之后热情却渐渐减退——甚至消磨殆尽呢?一项新研究表明,这是因为有时候达成目标所需的努力压倒了你的宏图壮志。其实,这都和基因有关。

伦敦玛丽女王大学心理学研究员 Agata Ludwiczak 博士表示:“当需要付出行动时,选择做什么和实际做什么之间有很大的差别!如果人们选择费力劳心的事,通常会关注回报,但实际付出多少努力,则取决于该任务的难度。”这就是你选择报名半程马拉松而非 10 公里马拉松的原因。追求虚名,可能会影响你的判断力。


Ludwiczak 博士的研究分为两个阶段。在第一阶段中,反复向参与人员提供成对的任务选择,各任务的难度和奖励都不同。简单任务的奖励通常更少,而困难任务的奖励则更加丰厚。在第二阶段中,参与者要尝试去完成他们刚才选择的任务。研究人员发现,人们在第一阶段都会追求丰厚的奖励,但到了第二阶段却来了个 180 度大转变,主要关心现在要付出多少努力,不再考虑这是否会带给他们最初追求的奖励。Ludwiczak 博士说道,“如果所需的努力超出预期,即使奖励非常诱人,你可能也会放弃。”

“我们的研究表明,无论你的目标是跑完 5 公里还是一场马拉松,这都不重要;在每一次跑步训练的过程中,你的大脑都会专注于当天需要付出的努力,” Ludwiczak 博士说道,“如果所需的努力超出预期,即使奖励非常诱人,你可能也会放弃。”

这些参与研究的任务都是小目标,当然无关痛痒。但是,如果目标是你毕生的梦想——比如登上 CrossFit 比赛的领奖台或完成铁人三项呢?难道你不该全力追逐梦想吗?答案应该是毋庸置疑的。但在你埋头行动之前,你得明白将要付出什么努力。具体做如下。

一开始,别急于求成

“如果你要在各种目标中作出决定,先想想你要付出多少努力才能如愿以偿。” Ludwiczak 博士表示。也不要把努力的过程想得过于轻松。如果你爱吃面包,那么坚持生酮饮食一个月计划也许并不适合你。如果你讨厌在周末早起进行跑步训练,那么参加越野挑战赛这件事可能还要再考虑一下。

Ludwiczak 博士建议你,如果中途遭遇挫折,或者觉得这件事逐渐演变成一件苦差事,那就试着分散自己的注意力。可以听听音乐,找几个朋友相伴,或者中途制定一些可行的小目标,逐个完成。

自我剖析

锻炼自我反思的能力有助于集中精力,帮助你坚持到底,尤其当你的某个目标,需要数周甚至数月的时间才能完成时。苏黎世大学的一项研究,要求软件开发人员制定职场健康目标,然后每隔几周进行评估。结果表明,通过这项简单的操练,他们对职场好习惯和坏习惯的认知度提高了 85%,工作效率和幸福感提高了 80%。

因此,你也可以尝试记录训练感受,然后定期回顾。内容可以包括:自己是否能跟上训练计划的进度?这项计划对你来说太容易了还是太难?做出相应的调整,确保这项计划具有足够的挑战性,能让你取得进步,但又不至于沦为负担。

承认潜在障碍

乐观心态并非百利而无一害。纽约大学心理学教授 Gabriele Oettingen 博士,经过多年的研究她发现,如果目标过于远大,往往会导致人们在努力追梦时行动力不足,成功的几率也会降低。

为了帮助人们解决这个问题,她提出了一个名为 WOOP 的策略,WOOP 是“愿望、结果、障碍、计划”这几个单词的英文简称。它的具体内容是:首先,确定一个富有挑战性但可行的愿望。比如,你想试着在工作日的晚上戒酒。然后,你可以想象付诸行动后的最佳结果,比如你的睡眠质量会提高,精力会更加充沛。接下来,找到一个可能阻碍你实现这个愿望的障碍。Oettingen 博士表示,要深入内心询问自己,我自身存在哪些问题?是不良的情绪、不切实际的想法或糟糕的习惯吗?也许晚餐时喝酒就是糟糕的习惯之一。最后,确定能助你克服障碍的行动或想法,同时制定一项“如果——那么”的计划。比如像这样:“如果我在晚餐时很想喝酒,那么我就喝绿茶或调味苏打水作为代替。”

“太过乐观的想象会让人们感觉自己很容易就能实现梦想,进而消磨动力,” Oettingen 博士解释道。“找到障碍可以带来动力,而制定‘如果——那么’的计划会让克服障碍的过程更具象。之后当障碍出现时,你会自然而然地作此反应,从而继续朝着目标前进。”

最重要了解的是:迅速转投简单的小目标,其实并不可耻。尽早习惯于一些小的成功,明白要付出什么努力,当你能信心满满地去迎接更难挑战时,就能达成更宏伟的目标。

相关故事

以正确的方式自我暗示和激励,助力提升运动表现

训练

如何激励自己,成就出色表现

专注力提升两大秘诀:冥想训练和正念训练

训练

不用冥想,也可提升专注力的3种方法

跟着超级马拉松运动员,学习训练自我的方法

训练

练就坚毅,步履不停

策略性思维助你在训练中实现目标

训练

过程的艺术

正确看待线上比赛,激励计划助你达成目标

训练

虚拟比赛也需良好心态

Coaching

To Achieve a Goal, Decide Whether the Process Is Actually Worth It

Setting your sights on a lofty goal, such as running a marathon, completing a 30-day healthy-eating challenge, or finally nailing a handstand, can be exciting. But why does the motivation to get after a goal often come easily at first, then peter out—or disappear altogether? Because sometimes your ambition is outweighed by the work it takes to achieve it, according to new research.It turns out there’s a genetic explanation.

To Achieve a Goal, Decide If the Process Is Worth It

“When effort is required, there is a crucial difference between choosing what to do and actually doing it,” says Agata Ludwiczak, PhD, a psychology researcher at Queen Mary University of London. “If people are choosing between effortful options, they tend to concentrate on rewards. But the amount of effort that they actually put in depends more on the effort requirements of the task.” That could explain why you choose to register for the half-marathon instead of the 10K. Going after bragging rights can cloud your judgment.

“Our study shows that it doesn't matter if your goal is to run a 5K or a marathon; during each individual training run, your brain will focus on the effort needed for that day."

Agata Ludwiczak, PhD, Psychology Researcher at Queen Mary University of London

There were two phases of Ludwiczak’s study, published in the journal Behavioural Brain Research. In the first, people were repeatedly provided a series of two tasks to choose from, each associated with different amounts of effort and monetary reward. The easier option often paid less money, while the harder one paid more. In part two, participants attempted to actually complete the task they chose in part one. Researchers found that in part one, people were all about the bigger payout. By part two, they did a 180 and focused primarily on in-the-moment effort, regardless of whether or not that effort resulted in the monetary reward they were initially after.

“Our study shows that it doesn't matter if your goal is to run a 5K or a marathon; during each individual training run, your brain will focus on the effort needed for that day,” says Ludwiczak. “If this effort turns out to be much more than anticipated, you're likely to quit, even when the reward is very attractive."

These participants were going after a few bucks, so pretty low stakes. But what if the reward is a lifelong dream—say, to podium a CrossFit competition or do an Ironman? Shouldn’t you reach for the stars? Maybe. But before you commit, you’ve got to know what you’re saying yes to. Here’s how to do that.

“If this effort turns out to be much more than anticipated, you're likely to quit, even when the reward is very attractive.”

For Starters, Forget About the Reward

“If you’re deciding among options, consider how much work you would have to put in to get what you want,” says Ludwiczak. And don’t sugarcoat it. Love bread? Then perhaps a month of keto isn’t for you. And if you hate waking up early on weekends to hit the trail for a training run, you might want to reconsider an adventure race.

If you hit bumps along the way or you’re feeling like it’s becoming a chore, try to distract yourself, Ludwiczak says. Listen to music, rope in some friends, or establish smaller, attainable targets to tick off along the way.

Check In With Yourself

In order to stay on track—especially when a goal spans weeks or months—practice self-reflection, which can help maintain focus. A Swiss study asked software developers to make workplace wellness goals, then sit down and assess their behaviors every couple of weeks. The simple exercise improved their awareness of good and bad workplace habits by 85 percent and improved their perceived productivity and well-being by 80 percent, found University of Zurich researchers.

If you can, jot down notes about how your workouts make you feel. Then, on a rest day, look back on the training you did that week. Were you able to keep up with the training plan? Did it seem too easy or too hard? Make adjustments accordingly to ensure it’s challenging enough that you’re making strides, but not so challenging that it’s becoming a burden.

Acknowledge Potential Obstacles

Positivity isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, says Gabriele Oettingen, PhD, a professor of psychology at New York University. Over years of research, she’s found that dreaming big about a goal can actually lead to poor effort and low success when it comes to trying to achieve it.

To help people overcome that, she came up with a mental strategy called WOOP, short for “Wish, Outcome, Obstacle, Plan.” First, identify an important wish that is challenging but attainable. For example, maybe you’re trying to cut out alcohol on weeknights. Then vividly imagine the best outcome and how it could change your daily life. Maybe you’ll sleep better and have more energy. Next, recognize an obstacle that might hold you back from fulfilling that wish. Oettingen says to dig deep and ask yourself, What do I have in me that stands in the way? An emotion, an irrational belief, a bad habit? Perhaps having a glass of wine with dinner has become the latter. Finally, identify the action or thought that will help you overcome the obstacle and make an “if-then” plan. That could be, “If I’m craving wine with dinner, then I’ll have a kombucha or flavored sparkling water instead.”

“Positive fantasies make people feel like they’ve already accomplished their dreams, sapping their energy,” explains Oettingen. “Discovering an obstacle will provide the energy, and making the ‘if-then plan’ will specify how to overcome it. When the obstacle later presents itself, this response will be automatically triggered, so you will progress toward your goal.”

Most importantly: There’s no shame in going after a more manageable goal off the bat. Setting yourself up for success early on can help you work toward those bigger-picture goals when you’re ready—and excited—to take on more work.

To Achieve a Goal, Decide If the Process Is Worth It

Join Nike Training Club

Access our world-class experts and trainers to help you stay active and healthy.

To Achieve a Goal, Decide If the Process Is Worth It

Join Nike Training Club

Access our world-class experts and trainers to help you stay active and healthy.