如何通过调节生物钟获得优质睡眠?

并非每个人的昼夜节律周期都是固定的 24 小时,也可能是 23 或 25 小时。有些人的生物钟运行周期甚至更短,只有 20 个小时。这就解释了为什么有人是夜猫子,有人习惯早起,还有人总是有时差反应。

其实,这都和基因有关。

如何通过调节生物钟获得优质睡眠?-耐克训练志

每个人的身体里都有一个中央生物钟,它会根据地球的 24 小时自转周期,把当前时间告诉肌肉、肝脏、胃部等所有体内独立生物钟,使其按时分别运作。这些生物钟都由生物钟蛋白调节,其中包括一种名为 PER 的主要蛋白,当它不同步时,你的生物钟节奏就会变成 23 小时或 25 小时。美国加州大学圣克鲁兹分校等大学研究人员近期发现,体内酶(名为酪蛋白激酶 1)存在某种基因变异的人,生物钟节奏甚至会变成 20 小时。

处于这类时间机制的人,通常也能获得理想的 7 小时或更多睡眠。但他们仍会因为昼夜节律紊乱、生活节奏,或地球昼夜更替不协调,而陷入一系列健康问题。原理何在?你的生物钟本身会很努力地与地球周期保持一致,但如果实在相差太多,你就永远没办法真正跟上节奏。这会进而引发分子层面的紊乱。美国加州大学圣克鲁兹分校化学与生物化学系副教授 Carrie Partch 博士说:“这就像是一直活在倒时差中。”

好消息是,科学家们认为这种体内酶的基因变异十分罕见。只有那些晚上 7 点左右入睡、凌晨 4 点左右起床的人才可能有。这种变异基因与生俱来,甚至在孩童时期就开始影响你的睡眠周期,但你可能要到青少年或更年长时才会注意到,因为那时你变得更了解自己的睡眠时间。


Partch 博士说:“褪黑素可促进身体入睡。生物钟周期明显过短说明褪黑素的释放过早达到峰值,因此你会较快感到疲乏而入睡。然后,也会在日出之前就醒来。”

无论你的生物钟周期是短还是长,都不必让它来支配你的生活节奏。佛罗里达大学肌肉学研究所教授 Karyn Esser 博士表示:“根据自己的训练和饮食等目标调整生活方式,可以改变生物钟相位或时间设定,好让每日高峰状态提早或延迟到达。”

生物钟与训练有什么关系?研究还在进行中。不过仍有一些心得可以分享:如果你在晚上 8 点就觉得精疲力尽,那么在下午锻炼对你来说可能最有益。 Esser 博士解释道,这是因为锻炼可以调整你的生物钟,推迟褪黑素的分泌。而如果午夜之前你还难以入睡,不妨早上锻炼一会,最好是室外锻炼,也许可以调整你的昼夜节律,让睡意在一天中早些达到峰值。她说道:“值得一提的是,肌肉生物钟极易受运动影响,并能够适应你安排的训练时间。因此你的肌肉可以习惯任何日程变化,适应后的运动表现也会更加出色,即使算不上突飞猛进。”

Partch 博士补充道,不论你个人的生物钟如何,最好能在日照时间的 10 小时内吃早餐、午餐和晚餐。这样还有一个好处:一觉醒来就能晒到自然光,天黑以后减少接触电子蓝光屏幕,这将对褪黑素的干扰降到最低。

Partch 博士说:“虽然要了解的东西还有很多,但能知晓我们都基于自己的生物钟运转倒也很有趣了。生物钟几乎控制着我们身体的一切。”不管你想要如何运用时间,越关注自己的生物钟,就越能掌控自己起床、吃饭、训练和睡觉的时间。

相关故事

如何获得优质睡眠,助力运动表现?-耐克训练志

耐克训练志

如何获得优质睡眠,助力运动表现?

6 个起床后日常习惯,让你神清气爽-耐克训练志

耐克训练志

6 个起床后日常习惯,让你神清气爽

调整心态,提高睡眠质量-耐克训练志

耐克训练志

调整心态,提高睡眠质量

建立睡前仪式,获得优质睡眠-耐克训练志

耐克训练志

建立睡前仪式,获得优质睡眠

一个问题,帮你改变饮食习惯-耐克训练志

耐克训练志

一个问题,帮你改变饮食习惯

Coaching

How to Regulate Your Body Clock for Better Sleep and More Energy

Not everyone’s circadian rhythm is a flat 24 hours. Yours could be 23 or 25. Some body clocks operate on a much shorter 20-hour cycle. This explains why some people are night owls, others are early birds, and a few of us feel permanently jet-lagged.

It turns out there’s a genetic explanation.

Regulate Your Body Clock for Better Sleep & More Energy

Everyone has a central clock that tells all the individual clocks within their body (the one in your muscles, liver, stomach, etc.) what time it is based on Earth’s 24-hour cycle and how to act accordingly. Each of those clocks are regulated by clock proteins, including a major one called the PER protein. When that protein is out of sync, it can throw you into a common 23-hour clock rhythm or an even more common 25-hour clock rhythm. Researchers at universities including the University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC) recently discovered that people with certain genetic mutations in an enzyme (called casein kinase 1) can even be thrown into a 20-hour clock rhythm.

Even though people on these schedules often still get the ideal seven or more hours of sleep, a disrupted circadian rhythm—or living out of tune with the Earth’s day and night—has been linked to a host of health issues. The thinking? Your clock will try very hard to align to the Earth on its own, but if yours is that much shorter, you can never really catch up, creating disarray on a molecular level. “It’s like living with perpetual jet lag,” says Carrie Partch, PhD, an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at UCSC and the study’s lead author.

The good news is that scientists believe this gene variant that makes people run on a 20-hour clock is rare (like, one in a million). Only people who go to bed around 7 pm and wake up around 4 am, even on weekends, likely have it. It’s a variation you’re born with and one that can affect your sleep cycle even as a child, though you might not notice until your teens or later, when you have more control over your bedtime.

“Your lifestyle—particularly when you train and when you eat—can be modified to shift the phase, or time settings, of your body clocks to peak earlier or later in the day depending on your goal.”

Karyn Esser, PhD, Professor and Associate Program Director at the University of Florida’s Institute of Myology

“Having a dramatically shorter clock means your melatonin release, which prompts your body for sleep, peaks much earlier, so you’re tired well before you should be,” says Partch. “Then you wake up before the day has really started.”

Whether your clock’s short or long, you don’t have to let it dictate how you tick and tock. “Your lifestyle—particularly when you train and when you eat—can be modified to shift the phase, or time settings, of your body clocks to peak earlier or later in the day depending on your goal,” says Karyn Esser, PhD, a Professor and Associate Program Director at the University of Florida’s Institute of Myology and a leading researcher on the relationship between circadian rhythms and skeletal muscle.

Research on body clocks and training is still in progress. But if you feel wiped by, say, 8 pm, you would probably benefit most from an afternoon workout. That’s because exercise can shift your body clocks, which can delay the onset of melatonin, says Esser. If you struggle to get to sleep before midnight, a morning session—preferably an outdoor one—should align your circadian cues for sleep onset to peak earlier in the day. “The nice thing is that your muscle clocks are very responsive to exercise and can adjust to the training schedule you set forth, so your muscles will get used to any scheduling changes,” she says. “As they do, they’ll perform better, so you should eventually see similar, if not greater, results.”

Regardless of your personal clock, you also want to eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner within a 10-hour time frame that best matches the hours of sunlight, adds Partch. Exposing yourself to natural light as soon as you wake and limiting blue-light screens (your phone, TV, and laptop) after dark to minimize melatonin disruption helps too.

“There’s so much more to learn, but it’s fascinating to know that we all operate on our own clock, which controls practically everything in our bodies,” says Partch. The closer you pay attention to yours, the more likely you’ll feel more control over when you wake, eat, train, sleep—whatever it is you want to do with your time.

Related Stories

How to Trick Your Brain Into Better Sleep

Coaching

How to Trick Your Brain Into Better Sleep

The Science of Good Sleep

Coaching

The Fundamentals: The Science of Sound Sleep

Meditation for Better Sleep

Coaching

Meditate Tonight for Better Sleep

Create Your Own Bed Time Routine

Coaching

Create a Bedtime Ritual

Nail The Perfect Running Form

Coaching

Nail the Perfect Running Form