SNEAKRS

....
  • Aide

NIKE BASKETBALL, JORDAN ET CONVERSE

ART OF A CHAMPION
Si la beauté est subjective, le talent est indéniable : c’est la marque d'un champion. Comme les grands artistes, les grands joueurs aspirent à créer le chef-d'oeuvre qui les définira, celui qui leur permettra de graver à tout jamais leur nom dans les annales. Dans le cadre de la collection Champions Think 16, Nike, Jordan et Converse présentent Art of a Champion, une collection de seize interprétations individuelles d'artistes qui rendent hommage aux seize performances intemporelles de seize des plus grands champions du basketball.
Un an après avoir manqué les playoffs pour la première fois en dix ans, Kobe porte sur ses épaules le destin des Lakers. Lors du 4e match des playoffs de 2006 contre les Suns, il s'offre les prolongations en effectuant un double-pas à la dernière seconde, mais les Lakers ont encore un point de retard à 6,1 secondes de la fin du temps supplémentaire. Kobe se dirige alors vers la droite, bondit au-dessus de deux défenseurs et inscrit le panier gagnant au moment même où le buzzer retentit. Sa performance assoit alors son statut de superstar dans la ville des stars, où il signera bien d'autres coups de maître sous les couleurs des Lakers.
Avant de rejoindre la NBA, Dr. J maîtrisait déjà parfaitement les lois de la physique, mais ne s'en était jusque-là servies que sur les terrains de Harlem. En 1980, le monde découvre ce talent caché avec un enchaînement fluide de gestes, qui marqueront le match 4 des finales de NBA. Se propulsant jusqu'à la ligne de fond en plein milieu du 4ème quart-temps, il soulève le ballon d'une seule main, pour taquiner la défense des Lakers avant de le ramener sous le panier et de marquer à la cuillère en utilisant le panneau. Même si Dr. J et les Sixers ne gagnent finalement pas le championnat, ses coups d'éclat au sein de l'équipe des All-Stars ont permis à la NBA de découvrir le style spectaculaire qui a fait la renomée du basket issu de Harlem.
Bien décidé à offrir aux Pistons leur premier titre depuis 1990, Rasheed prend les choses en main lors d'un 4e match physique au cours des finales de 2004 au Palace. Victime d'un coup de coude sournois à la moitié du troisième quart-temps, il décide de transformer sa colère en motivation pour décrocher la victoire. Sa performance hors norme contribue à ramener un titre durement gagné à Motor City, et inscrit à jamais la AF1 dans l'histoire de ce sport. Elle est désormais représentative de son assurance, de sa détermination et de son jeu sophistiqué.
Les finales de 2014 étaient annoncées comme un combat au sommet entre les très expérimentés joueurs des Spurs et la prestigieuse équipe des Heat, mais c'est finalement le jeune Kawhi Leonard qui emporte San Antonio vers la victoire avec un jeu aussi éblouissant qu'inattendu. En marquant 29 points dans le match 3, il donne l'avantage aux Spurs, qui profitent de l'élan pour remporter la compétition. Nommé MVP des finales, sa performance représente un passage de flambeau et annonce un futur radieux : il incarne la nouvelle génération de l'équipe des Spurs.
Avec pas moins de 11 titres en NBA, le palmarès de Bill Russell est synonyme de suprématie et de gloire. Pourtant les statistiques qui illustrent le mieux sa carrière restent les 30 points et 40 rebonds qui ont offert la victoire aux Celtics dans les prolongations du match 7 en 1962. En aidant Boston à remporter son 4ème titre consécutif et établir ainsi un règne qui durerait plusieurs décennies, Russell a élevé la Chuck Taylor au rang d'icône : la meilleure chaussure de basketball, portée par le meilleur joueur.
Avec deux victoires consécutives en NBA, les Bulls sont sur le point de réaliser le célèbre « three-peat », un rarissime triplé. Dominateur durant toute la durée du match 2 des finales de 1993, Pippen deviendra le 12ème joueur de l'histoire à réaliser un triple-double dans un match de finale. En bloquant un tir à trois points de dernière minute, il évite le match nul et permet aux Bulls de prendre l'avantage 2-0 avec la victoire en point de mire. À la veille de la retraite de Jordan, Pippen prouve par cette performance qu'il est capable de prendre ses responsabilités et de mener les Bulls avec brio.
Le célèbre panier à trois points de Ray Allen n'a rien d'un miracle. Même si le ballon semble s'extirper difficilement de la cohue pour atterrir par hasard au coin du terrain à quelques secondes de la fin du match 6 des finales de 2013, Allen s'est entraîné toute sa vie à perfectionner ses tirs pour être prêt à ce moment précis. Son panier à trois points permet l'égalisation et renverse la vapeur pour les Heat, qui remportent un nouveau titre consécutif. Miami a trouvé son sauveur.
Avec un match de retard (2-1) contre les Lakers lors des finales de 1984, les Celtics de Boston n'ont pas encore trouvé l'élément déclencheur. Alors que Kurt Rambis, le joueur de Los Angeles, s'élance pour terminer une contre-attaque fulgurante sur un dunk, Kevin McHale commet une faute dangereuse qui envoie le joueur des Lakers au sol et déclenche une bagarre animée entre les deux équipes. Considéré par plusieurs joueurs des Lakers comme la raison de leur défaite dans ce match et dans cette série, le geste de McHale devient prétexte à vengeance et détourne l'équipe de son objectif dans ce qui deviendra l'une des rivalités les plus commentées entre l'Est et l'Ouest. Avec cette faute personnelle, McHale annonce la couleur : lorsque le titre est en jeu, chaque panier doit se mériter.
Après l'élimination de son équipe en 1971 et 1975, Wes Unseld est déterminé à renverser la tendance lors des finales de 1978 contre les Supersonics de Seattle. À l'issue d'un éreintant jeu de ping-pong entre les deux équipes qui se termine sur un 7ème match décisif à Seattle, ce sont les deux lancers francs d'Unseld vers la fin du match qui assurent finalement son tout premier titre au club de Washington D.C. Malgré une moyenne peu remarquable de 9,0 points et 11,7 rebonds, l'expérience d'Unseld et ses qualités humaines sur le terrain lui vaudront le titre de MVP des finales, et une place parmi les plus grands joueurs de basket de tous les temps.
Avides de réussite après s'être inclinés face aux Lakers lors des finales de 1982, les Sixers créent l'événement en alignant Moses Malone, un joueur qui, bien que brillant, divise l'opinion. Au début des playoffs, faisant montre d'un aplomb insolant, Malone prédit que Philadelphie remportera le titre de 1983 en concluant chacune des trois séries sur au moins quatre victoires : le célèbre « fo', fo', fo' ». Après avoir battu les Knicks en quatre matchs, puis les Bucks en cinq, les 24 points et 23 rebonds de Malone dans le match 4 contre les Lakers assurent aux Sixers leur troisième titre de champion de la NBA. Alors que Philadelphie soulève le trophée, Malone, l'un des six premiers joueurs choisis pour porter la AF1 sur le terrain, s'exclame « fo', fi', fo' » pour « quatre, cinq, quatre ». Un résultat qui résonnera, telle une incantation, dans les rues de la ville pour les années à venir.
En 2011, à peine six mois après avoir été sélectionnée comme premier choix de la draft, Maya Moore touche du doigt son premier titre WNBA. Lors d'un match 3 décisif, elle marque un panier à trois points dans les dernières secondes, qui offre aux Lynx leur tout premier titre de champion. Sa performance est l'aboutissement d'une ascension fulgurante et l'incarnation d'une mentalité de gagnante, qui se révèle dans les grands moments de basketball.
À 6 min 15 de la fin du match 5 des finales de la Conférence Est de 2007, LeBron a de toute évidence un déclic, qui le mènera à s'emparer du match lors d'une performance sans précédent. Il signe alors 29 des 30 points de son équipe, dont l'intégralité des 18 marqués dans les prolongations, offrant à lui seul la victoire à son club lors d'un match interminable. Ce n'est pourtant que sa première apparition en finales NBA. La LeBron Soldier 1 a été spécialement conçue pour résister à de tels affrontements, car ce jour-là, le monde entier a été témoin d'une prouesse qui marquait le début d'une carrière exceptionnelle, placée sous le signe de la conquête.
Dans un match 6 qui s’avère décisif pour les finales de la Conférence Ouest, KD prend le dessus en marquant 34 points et 14 rebonds qui permettent à son équipe de rattraper un écart de 18 points à la mi-temps et lui ouvrent les portes de ses toutes premières finales. Après avoir éliminé les Mavericks, champions en titre, ainsi que les Lakers de Kobe, KD et les Thunders rattrapent leur retard sur les très expérimentés Spurs pour finir la série sur une victoire 4-2. Le moment est historique : pour la première fois depuis 13 ans, aucune de ces trois équipes ne représentera la conférence Ouest aux finales NBA. Bien que le titre échoue finalement aux Heat de LeBron, KD démontre avec cette performance qu'il fait partie des plus grands et acquiert une expérience qui lui sera très précieuse dans les finales cinq ans plus tard.

AIR FORCE 270

L'ÉTALON-OR
Il y a les All-Star, les MVP, les joueurs inscrits au Hall-of-Fame, et puis il y a les Champions, ceux qui soulèvent la récompense ultime du basketball. Pour chaque joueur, le célèbre trophée plaqué en or 24 carats représente un titre différent de tous les autres, celui qui fait une carrière. « Gold standard » s'inspire du trophée Larry O'Brien pour rendre hommage à l'excellence dont fait preuve chaque champion NBA.

• Help

NIKE BASKETBALL, NIKE SPORTSWEAR, JORDAN BRAND & CONVERSE

ART OF A CHAMPION
While beauty is in the eye of the beholder, artistry is in the legacy of a champion. Like all great artists, all great players relentlessly push themselves towards the creation of their defining masterpiece, one that will forever etch their name into the annals of history. As part of the Champions Think 16 collection, Nike Basketball, Nike Sportswear, Jordan Brand and Converse present: Art of a Champion, a collection of sixteen individual artist interpretations that celebrate sixteen timeless performances by sixteen of the game’s greatest champions. Stay tuned to SNKRS for launch info regarding each sneaker featured in the collection.

KOBE 1 PROTRO

FINAL SECONDS
One year after missing the playoffs for
the first time in ten years, the weight of the Lakers franchise sat on the sole shoulders of Kobe. In Game 4 of the 2006 playoffs against the Suns, Kobe sent the game to overtime with a last-second layup, yet he and the Lakers then found themselves down again now by one with 6.1 seconds remaining. Driving to the right and elevating over two defenders, Kobe nailed the game-winner as time expired. While his performance symbolized that he was the biggest star in the city of stars, he now owned the town in what became a legacy of more unforgettable performances as the face of the Lakers.

CONVERSE PRO LEATHER MID

THE SCOOP
Before joining the NBA, Dr. J’s mastery of
the physical world was virtually unknown, except to those from the courts of Harlem. That all changed with one smooth move in Game 4 of the 1980 Finals. Driving to the baseline halfway through the 4th quarter, he raised the ball high with one hand, teasing the Lakers defense before bringing it back under the hoop and scooping it off the glass. While Dr. J and the Sixers didn’t go on to win the series, his move in the All- Star’s brought the fabled flair and flash of Harlem basketball to the NBA.

AIR FORCE 1 HIGH

RUDE AWAKENING
Out to deliver the Pistons their first title since 1990, Rasheed took matters into his own hands during a physical Game 4 of the 2004 Finals at the Palace. After catching a cheap elbow mid-way through the third quarter, he responded by converting his passion and anger into pure dominance. Helping to bring a hard-earned title back to the Motor City, his beastly takeover performance cemented the AF1 into another chapter of the game’s legacy and became synonymous with his swagger, grit, and sophisticated style of play.

AIR JORDAN I

PASS THE TORCH
The 2014 Finals were billed as a bout between the veteran Spurs and the star-studded Heat, but it was a young Kawhi Leonard whose out-of-nowhere, transcendent play fueled San Antonio to the title. His 29-point showing in Game 3 helped the Spurs gain an advantage that would
allow them to go on and win the series. Decorated as The Finals MVP, his performance signified a passing of the torch and his bright future as the face of the next generation of the Spurs franchise.

CONVERSE CHUCK 70 LOW

30 AND 40
As an 11-time NBA champion, Bill Russell’s career was filled with dominance and glory, but no moment better epitomizes his career than his 30 point and 40 rebound showing that helped the Celtics secure an overtime victory in Game 7 of the 1962 Finals. Helping Boston win their 4th straight title in what would be a reign over the league for years to follow, Russell, the game’s premier player, immortalized the Chuck Taylor as the game’s premier and most iconic basketball sneaker.

AIR MAESTRO II

TRIFECTA
Coming off back-to-back NBA titles, the Bulls found themselves on the doorstep of an illustrious “three-peat”. With a dominating performance in Game 2 of the 1993 Finals, Pippen would become just the 12th player in history to log a triple-double in a Finals game. Capping his night by blocking a potential game-tying three, he gave the Bulls a 2-0 lead in a series they would go on to win. In the wake of Jordan’s retirement after the series, Pippen’s Finals performance signified to Chicago his ability to shine on his own in the spotlight and lead the Bulls by himself.

AIR JORDAN XXVIII

LOCKED AND LOADED
There’s nothing synonymous between a Ray Allen three and the word miracle. Though it looked like a mad scramble when the rock pin-balled its way to the corner with just a few seconds remaining in Game 6 of the 2013 Finals, Allen, the consummate sharp-shooter, spent his whole life preparing for this moment. His game-tying three shifted the momentum of the entire series, fueling the Heat to a back-to-back title and cementing his everlasting legacy into the city of Miami as a savior.

CONVERSE FASTBREAK HI

NO EASY BUCKETS
Trailing 2-1 to the Lakers in the 1984 Finals, the Boston Celtics needed a spark. As LA’s Kurt Rambis attempted to finish a dunk on a fast break, Kevin McHale, committed a dangerous foul that sent the Laker to the floor and caused a heated brawl between the rival teams. Credited by several Lakers as the reason for their defeat in the game and that series, McHale’s play caused them to become fixated on retaliation rather than victory in what has become a storied rivalry of East versus West. With the hard foul, McHale made a statement in the fast-break’s; when the championship is on the line, there will be no easy buckets.

CONVERSE STAR PLAYER LOW

INTANGIBLES
After being swept in both the 1971 and 1975 NBA Finals, Wes Unseld was determined to change the winds of history in 1978 against the Seattle Supersonics. The grueling back-and-forth series would eventually come down to a Game 7 matchup in Seattle, and it was Unseld’s two key free throws late in the game that would seal the victory and deliver Washington D.C. its first-ever sports championship. Despite averaging just 9.0 points and 11.7 rebounds in the series, Unseld’s veteran presence and on-court intangibles would ultimately earn him Finals MVP honors, cementing his legacy as one of the game’s all-time greats.

AIR FORCE 1 LOW

F0’, FI’, FO’
Out for revenge after losing to the Lakers in the ’82 Finals, the Sixers made a splash by adding the polarizing yet dominant Moses Malone to their roster. Making a bold statement at the start of the playoffs, he predicted that Philly would win the ’83 championship, sweeping each series “fo’, fo’, fo’”. After beating the Knicks in four and taking down the Bucks in five, Malone’s 24-point and 23-rebound performance in Game 4 vs. the Lakers helped the Sixers to secure their third NBA Championship. As Philly lifted the trophy, Malone, one of the “original six” to wear the AF1 on court, updated his famous prediction to “fo’, fi’, fo’”, a champion’s declaration that would ring out across the city for years to come.

AIR JORDAN XI LOW

ROOK TO QUEEN
Just six months after being selected as the first pick of the 2011 Draft, Maya Moore found herself on the cusp of her first WNBA title. In a series-deciding Game 3 of the 2011 Finals, she drilled a late-game three to seal the Lynx their first-ever championship. Her performance embodied her meteoric rise to the top of the game and debuted her mentality for greatness in the game’s biggest moments.

LEBRON SOLDIER 1

25 STRAIGHT
With 6:05 remaining on the clock in Game 5 of the 2007 Eastern Conference Finals, LeBron seemingly flipped a switch and dominated the game in ways previously unseen. He would go on to score 29 of his team’s final 30 points, including all 18 of their points in overtime, single-handedly willing his team to a 2OT victory and his first NBA Finals appearance. LeBron’s Soldier 1 was specifically designed for the rigor of playoff battles like this one, and his performance that day was the first time the world witnessed what would become an entire career filled with game-changing takeovers.

KD IV

BATTLE TESTED
In a series-clinching Game 6 of the Western Conference Finals, KD took over with a 34-point and 14-rebound performance that helped erase an 18-point halftime deficit and sent him to his first ever Finals appearance. After sweeping the defending champion Mavericks, and ousting a Kobe-led Lakers, KD and the Thunder’s 4-2 comeback over a veteran Spurs team sealed a historic takedown of the only three teams that had represented the West in the Finals for the past 13 years. While LeBron and the Heat would ultimately win the finals, KD’s playoff performance showed the world his dominance as one of the game’s greats and provided him with experience that would prove invaluable in a Finals appearance five years later.

AIR FORCE 270

GOLD STANDARD
There are All-Stars, there are MVPs, there are Hall-of-Famers, and then there are Champions, the ones who lift the game’s crowning achievement. For every player, the iconic 24k, gold-plated trophy symbolizes a career- defining title different than all others. “Gold standard” draws inspiration from the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy to honor the same level of excellence that every NBA Champion holds themselves.

AIR JORDAN XIV

LAST SHOT
What would ultimately become Jordan’s last shot as a Chicago Bull would also become one of his most legendary. Down one with 10 seconds left on the clock in Game 6 of the 1998 Finals, MJ shook off his defender and elevated in a single motion, sinking the now infamous 20-foot jumper. The AJ XIV’s became synonymous with the “last shot”, which sealed him
his 6th NBA Title and his 6th Finals MVP, a perfect swan song for his inimitable career.
Disabled flag: SNKRS_flagging_enabled_example