SNEAKRS

....
Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date

Air Max 97

On-Air: Shanghai
180 €

Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date
Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date
Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date
Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date
Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date
Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date

Ru nahm sich des Air Max 97 an und ließ sich von gleitenden, schwindenden Wolken über einem futuristischen Shanghai inspirieren. "Mein Design heißt 'Kaleidoscope' und ist inspiriert vom Zusammenspiel von Wolken und Wolkenkratzern in Pudongs Lujiazui", erklärt er. "Die unterschiedlichen Formen, die durch Kondensation entstehen, ähneln der rasanten Entwicklung Shanghais."

Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date

Ru sieht sich selbst als Sneakerhead und nahm die Herausforderung an, sein ursprüngliches Konzept, das er als "Kunstwerk" verstand, noch tragbarer zu machen. "Mein Konzept Realität werden zu lassen, war ein langer und komplizierter Weg", gibt er zu. "Hinter der Entstehung eines Sneaker stecken Collaboration und Kommunikation."

Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date

Die Feinarbeit und Optimierung des Sneaker zahlte sich für Ru letztlich aus. "Meinen ganz eigenen Sneaker zu entwerfen war ein Kindheitstraum", schwärmt er. "Ich bin seit meiner Oberschulzeit ein großer Fan von Sneakern. Ich bin froh und dankbar, dass mein Design solchen Anklang gefunden hat."

SNKRS

....
Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date

Air Max 97

On-Air: Shanghai
$200

Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date
Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date
Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date
Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date
Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date
Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date

Ru chose the Air Max 97 and was inspired by the buoyancy and disappearance of clouds over the futuristic city of Shanghai. “The name of my design is ‘Kaleidoscope,’ and the inspiration comes from the interaction between clouds and skyscrapers in Pudong’s Lujiazui,” he says. “The different shapes that arise through condensation mirror the high-speed development of Shanghai.”

Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date

Ru, a self-proclaimed sneakerhead, was challenged to make his shoe more wearable than his original sketches — an “art piece,” as he described it. “Turning concept into reality was a long, complicated journey,” he says. “The birth of a sneaker requires a lot of collaboration and communication.”

Air Max 97 'On Air: Shanghai' Release Date

All of the tweaking and refining of the sneaker paid off for Ru. “Designing a sneaker of my own is really a childhood dream,” he says. “I’ve been a huge fan of sneakers since secondary school. I feel really lucky and grateful for the recognition my design has received.”